Linda Brown Fellows Awards 2001-02

Danny Brolliar of Tahoe Lake Elementary
Nancy Shaeffer of Truckee Elementary
Carolyn Keigley of Glenshire Elementary
Dave Green of Truckee High School
Lisa Furr of Truckee High/North Tahoe High Special Education
Dick Lingle of North Tahoe High School

Each recipient received a $1,500 cash grant that they could spend in any way that enhanced student or teacher academics during the 2001-2002 school year. Here are some of the inspiring comments from those who nominated the six award recipients:

"Nancy Shaeffer gives 200% of herself to teaching and has unparalleled academic standards. She is the 'Energizer Bunny' of Truckee Elementary!"

"There isn't a family in town that Danny Brolliar hasn't touched with her love, vitality, and compassion. She is committed, energetic, sensitive and passionate about teaching; a one-of-a-kind teacher and person."

"Carolyn Keigley is deeply committed to infusing the arts into daily student activities and uses a hands-on, artistic approach. She is always searching for new ways to teach."

"Lisa Furr brought the Community Based Instruction Program to the school district. This program's focus is life skill training for students who are part of the special education program at both North Tahoe and Truckee High Schools. I have not seen another teacher have so great an impact on special population students in such a short time."

"Our nation needs teachers like Mr. Green, who can inspire our young people to be passionate about their education and handle problems as challenges, not barriers. He has shown us the dignity and the importance of being a teacher in today's society."

"Dick Lingle has the unique ability to excite that special inner place in his students which they carry on with them for the rest of their lives. He has the rare ability to transfer his interest and excitement about discovery and learning to those he teaches."

The Foundation Board wishes to commend the outstanding efforts of all the teachers who were nominated for Fellows Awards. From the Truckee side of the district, the nominees included: Margaret Abbott, Judi Cwikla, Cindy Harris, Sara Kuttle, Julia Lawrence, Kilty Highfill, Lissa Johnson, and Sarah Urmston. Nominations from the lakeside included: Barbara Gordon, Lisa Melin, Christine Anderson, Jan Moseley, and Kate Thomas.